Seattle: The Food

Even though it’s been a few weeks, I do want to talk about our trip to Seattle. I only just got around to uploading the pictures from my camera and even that caused me undue stress, because I kept thinking that there were eighteen other things I should be doing. But tonight I am the sole adult in the house, and, though I wanted to get a bunch of cleaning done, I am instead doing what I feel like doing which is not much of anything really.

Heckler and Matt: Best Hosts Ever.

Speaking of adult time, our wonderful neighbors (with the help of Patty) watched the boys, so Josh could go to Seattle with me and it felt amazing to feel like just a couple again. Despite missing the kids deeply the first two days, I settled in and enjoyed our time. The food helped. How did I not know that Seattle has food to rival San Francisco? While I failed to get pictures at Pan Africa Market, Poppy, Japonessa, Wayward Cafe, and Pike Place Chowder, they were all well worth seeking out. Japonesse is in the heart of downtown and any visitor there should ask for the green roll. It’s not on the menu, but it’s vegan and absolutely delicious. My only complaint is that the roll is slightly too big, but it stayed together well, the rice was seasoned perfectly, and the proportion of veggies was great. Pike Place Chowder has one vegan option. It’s a coconut based chowder that’s filling (could use some lemongrass, but quibbles….) and hearty on a drizzly Seattle afternoon in the midst of Pike Place chaos. Poppy really deserves it’s own post, but without pictures I couldn’t do it justice. Poppy serves food thali-stlye, which is basically like Southern Indian tapas. The ingredients are seasonal and local and they happily accommodate vegans. What I really loved, though, were the simple flavors that were paired in unique ways. Each bite was a revelation. Seriously. And we have those two–yes, them, up there–to thank for the experience.

Despite our many failures, however, we did manage to get pictures of the brunch we had on our way out of town. After walking miles in many wrong directions, we managed to find Plum Bistro. I have to start by mentioning that they serve some of the best coffee I’ve ever had (hello, Stumptown Coffee!) in an individual french press. One of the great things about dining with Josh is that our tastes diverge greatly–especially when it comes to breakfast. He has a sweet tooth that is never satisfied, which means I can have one glorious bit that’ll do me just fine, and I can stick with the savory. Josh outdid himself this time and went with the tiramisu pancakes, while I decided on the tofu benedict. I can’t really explain this choice, since I never even liked eggs benedict, but it was a good choice:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I can’t end this post, however, without mentioning what might just be my favorite bar. Ever. I thought the West End was nice with it’s bourbon selection and rooftop bar, but the grandaddy of whiskey bars has to be 9 Million in Unmarked Bills. It’s in the Fremont district of Seattle, across from the Lenin statue. As if that weren’t enough, they have elevated pub fare (hello, tempura brussels sprouts!), an impressive selection of whiskey (including two Japanese labels), a distinctly neighborly atmosphere, and the best bourbon recommendations I’ve ever gotten. The bar itself is dark, eclectic, and boasts a sit down Ms. Pac Man game. I would seriously live there if it were within commuting distance.

Home Sweet Home

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seattle: The Food

  1. Angela says:

    Wow, that is a good looking brunch. Seattle is very high on my list of “must do a food tour” cities.

Leave a Reply

