First day on the job.

Most first days at a new job are racked with awkward getting-to-know the coworkers, the bosses, your desk, breaktimes, the flow of the workplace.
My first day at being a stay-at-home parent wasn’t quite so awkward since I already knew the boss pretty well, and the coworkers/clients were people I had known for all of their lives.

Now that I’ve had a week to let it all sink in, and differentiate some of what was the first day jitters and what’s the norm, the list of thoughts I had that first afternoon are more obvious with a little bit of hindsight:

1. The day goes by so much quicker than I expected. I’m not sure where the days go, but I must be having fun because every time I look it’s time for lunch, or a nap or it’s already 4:30.

2. I need a to do list. Obviously, there are daily chores that need doing. Dishes, laundry, putting toys away (the kids and mine, mind you,) feeding/cleaning up after the animals, etc. And then there are the bigger projects that need to happen: weeding the garden, organizing the office, making room for a craft area, filling out various paperwork, travel plans and arrangements, etc. Without a list of what those things are, I fear I’ll never get to them for the daily chores.

3. I’m going to need some ideas for things to do with the kids that are free, cheap, easy, and/or close by. At this point, I think I’ll settle for  three of the four. I’m pretty sure I’m going to be doing some exploring of local parks in the near future.
Dalyn pointed out that I’m lucky I’m starting this stay-at-home gig in the summer, when it’s nice out most of the time, and easy to take the boys out to a park for a few hours.  I’m not sure what we’ll be doing for outings come fall and winter, but I’m sure we’ll find something.

4. I really love being at home with my family all day.  I can definitely see why people have trouble going to work at an office or something after staying at home all the time with their kids and family.

5. This isn’t really something I learned on my first day home with Eames, but I did spend a bit of time thinking about it this week and it seems to fit here.
I tend to want to do too many of my own projects. Even without the kids around I suffered from this. I hope having them around and being forced to become more organized with my time will help me get to some of those things I’ve been putting off for years

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

