A Shiny New Baby and Other Recent Happenings

Since the last time I blogged (on either of my old blogs), things have changed. Drastically. Of course, that is bound to happen when you haven’t done any writing in 6 months. So, without excuses and without further ado… actually, there will be much more ado. It’s just that each ado will be getting it’s own blog post. So, stay tuned.

In the meantime, however, I give you a list of the latest happenings in the land of vegan breeders:

Most AwesomeCuteWildCuddly Happening: The arrival of Dashiell Brown on April 28, 2011. He weighed 8 pounds, 15 ounces and is a dead ringer for that older brother of his.

Eames and Dashiell striking the same pose.

Most Anxiety-Producing Happening: Josh getting laid off. While it’s lovely to have him home (especially in the warm glory of early summer), it’s hard to feed two growing boys and to maintain my lifestyle with zero income. A life of leisure needs to be financed somehow.

Most Inevitable Happening: Dalyn going back to work. Luckily for us, we have options in this terrible economy. I had already signed on for a summer class (my TV class, which I am sooooo excited about), but now I’ll be back to teaching at CU close to full-time in the fall. Will I be able to get my writing done? Well, I can’t possibly get any less done.

Most Overdue Happening: The Westy getting fixed. Though we bought it in October of last year, it was in the shop until March. Then it failed the emissions test. Five times.

38 weeks pregnant. Almost as big as the van.

Most Mundane Happening: Starting another blog. A family blog that compiles all of our boy-saturated vegan adventures in place. Welcome.

Most Uneventful Happening: 101 Things list ending. Luckily, I have a new blog on which to reflect and plan for another 101 things.

Most FrustratingJoyfulMaddeningHappyCrazyWildCuriousEcstatic Happening: Eames quietly turning two on May 1, 2011–two days after his baby brother arrived. It was a hard week for him with a new brother, getting sick, being away from us for the first time overnight, and negotiating the language barrier. It was also the only quiet thing he’s done in months.

Eames being Eames.

This entry was posted in 101 things in 1001 days, Boys, Cults of Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Shiny New Baby and Other Recent Happenings

  1. Ondine says:

    Glad to see you’re back to blogging! Now that my summer class is done I need to do the same. I did really well with my 101 Things list last time around. This time I’ve been less motivated (although I have completed 6 items so far). I’m wondering if it’s because I chose some more difficult things this time or because I’ve been buried under school crap? Anyway, I want to hear how you did on your last list and if you’re doing another one, post your new list!

Leave a Reply

