>Ebony and Ivory…

>…or, in this case peanut butter “cream cheese” frosting and chocolate, do go together in perfect harmony. Josh’s birthday was last Friday and I decided that I’d bake him a fancy cake for his birthday. Josh loves peanut butter and chocolate and to prove my complete and utter selflessness, I not only baked him a cake with those two things which I don’t particularly like but I also baked–which I don’t like to do.

Luckily for me, Smitten Kitchen had recently posted a recipe for a chocolate peanut butter cake. As she points out, this cake is incredibly rich: three layers of chocolate cake connected with peanut butter cream cheese frosting and topped with a chocolate glaze. it also has more sugar than flour and an impressive amount of oil. Josh, by some miracle, managed to put away two good size pieces after a big dinner. But, be forewarned, this cake is not for weak of heart–or stomach.
Also, this cake was exceptionally easy to veganize using earth balance, soy creamer, egg replacer and so forth. I do, however, recommend cooking the cakes for a few minutes longer, though I’m not sure why mine took longer (replaced ingredients, altitude, ineptness…?).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Ebony and Ivory…

  1. Bianca says:

    >You don’t like peanut butter and chocolate together! Wow! I’m beside myself….okay, now I’m back inside myself. That cake looks scrumptious. Just so you know, my b-day is in October…in case you wanna make me a cake too. 🙂

  2. thedalyn says:

    >Sometimes I like them together–the krispy peanut butter balls, for example. But, I don’t really like chocolate and I like peanut butter in a limited way. What can I say?

  3. VeganCowGirl says:

    >Beautiful cake. Way to go Josh!

Leave a Reply

