>36. Eat one piece of fruit a day for 7 days

>My original intent was to include some things on my list that would be easy to check off. Imagine my surprise when I realized that close to two weeks in, I’ve checked off exactly one thing. Some of these goals, like eating a piece of fruit a day, were meant to inspire a habit. While completing this task was easy, I know it’s not going to become a habit. I did, however, discover something: I find fruit inconvenient, meaning that generally I can’t really cook with it. However, it just so happened that we had Community Cycles over for a planning day the Sunday before last and we quartered a bunch of oranges as part of the breakfast. Most did not get eaten, so I ate them throughout the week in an effort to check off #36. Already cut up and on a big plate taking up space in the middle of my fridge, this task proved remarkably easy. It was convenient and most of the fruit I like–oranges, pineapple, mango–aren’t.

So, if I were a nutritionist or health food magazine columnist, I’d tell me to plan ahead and prep fruit at the beginning of the week. It’s a relatively simple change for someone whose diet is already pretty healthy. And perhaps that’s what I most resent: the big changes don’t apply to me. Those “10 things you can do for a healthier lifestyle or to lose 10 pounds” lists piss me off. Cut out sweets, do 20 minutes of exercise–even walking–a day, include veggies in every meal, cut back on saturated fats…uh-huh, no sweets at all, I ride my bike everywhere (Imagine my delight when I read about a guy in the NYTimes who decided to start riding the 2 miles–2 miles!!!–to work everyday and lost 15 pounds in 2 months), I don’t eat saturated fats, and I eat vegetables in every meal–even breakfast. Everyday. Do I really have to worry about fruit too? Maybe I should adopt some (of those) bad habits so I can quit them and reap the benefits.

Or maybe I should just suck it up and eat some damn fruit–while I start thinking about the other 100 things I committed myself to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

