>Burrito con Applesauce

>In her youthful rebellion against meatloaf Thursday’s and canned vegetables, my mom developed a taste for Mexican food–the spicier, the better–as soon as she left home. In Southern California, this mostly took the form of quesadillas, tacos, enchiladas, and chile rellenos. However, she had her hands full with a husband, a full-time job, and a particular child with a love of semantics. As a result, she usually made what was easy: burritos. These particular burritos were nothing more than ground turkey, refried beans, a taco seasoning packet, and a jar of hot salsa mixed together and stuffed in a tortilla with cheese. I ate these burritos for dinner several times a week and they often doubled as my latchkey kid after school snack. The only problem for me was that they were very, very spicy–at least, they were for a 7 year old kid–and my mom had no sympathy whatsoever. So, I learned to adapt (it was either that or, as my mom made clear on many occasions, starve). But as much as I loved burritos, I think I may have loved applesauce even more. Combining them seemed like a natural solution, especially since the sweetness of the applesauce cut the tear-inducing spiciness of my mom’s rebellion.

Perhaps it was the stormy weather or the fact that I haven’t been home in a while (though I will be in 2 weeks!), but today I was craving comfort food. And, for me, there’s nothing more comforting than my mom’s burritos smothered in applesauce. I know, I know, it sounds disgusting and maybe it is…but, I love it. So, I decided to replicate it in a way that’s a little more sophisticated (but not too much) than the burritos I loved so much as a 7 year old.

Burrito Filling:
1 cup TVP
2 cups water, boiling
1 onion diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 handful sweet corn, frozen
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 can diced tomatoes
2-3 tsp. ancho chile powder
1 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. cayenne (adjust to your likeness if omitting applesauce)
fresh ground pepper to taste
1 can refried beans

Combine TVP and 1 cup of boiling water in a small bowl. Set aside. In a medium size sauce pan, saute onion and garlic until onion starts to get translucent. Add green bell pepper and corn and cook for a few minutes more. Next, add the rest of the ingredients, except refried beans, and bring to a boil. Then reduce to simmer and cook until the liquid is pretty much gone. Add refried beans, mixing well, and heat through. Put some of the burrito mix in a tortilla and and top with unsweetened applesauce.

Josh likes this burrito filling on top of chips with nacho cheeze. There’s no accounting for taste.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Burrito con Applesauce

  1. veganboyjosh says:

    >the cheese in that photo looks weird. you vegans are strange.

  2. Rural Vegan says:

    >I love reading about everyone’s weird food habits like applesauce over burritos. I’m definitely guilty of a few weird combinations myself!

  3. thedalyn says:

    >TVP=Textured Vegetable ProteinIt’s a cheap meat alternative that has no flavor on its own but has the consistency of ground meat.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Textured_vegetable_protein

Leave a Reply

