>Roasted Polenta and Sausages

>Yesterday was another beautiful day and I managed to fit in both a run and a short bike ride. The reason for doubling-up was that I felt super crappy on my run and ended up only going about 2.5 miles. I blame the weekend diet of chips and salsa, though running at high noon probably didn’t help. Anyway, I did make this wonderful pomegranate green tea with lemon and mint to stave off the heat of the day and try to rejuvenate myself. I certainly needed it after that lame attempt at exercise.
After the bike ride (an easy 12 miles that felt much better than the run and alleviated my guilt), I finally got around to making some more sausages. I decided that I wanted to make a black bean chipotle sausage and the end result is pretty good, though I think it still needs some tinkering. This is simply a variation on the seitan sausages making the rounds:

1/2 cup black beans
1 cup veggie broth
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. tamari
2 garlic cloves, finely grated
1 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1 tbsp. adobo
1 tbsp. liquid smoke
1 tsp. cumin seeds
1/2 tsp. coriander
1/2 tsp. onion powder
pinch of salt
fresh ground black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. I find that kneading the mixture with my hands is the most effective–and most messy–way. Divide into 4 equal portions and wrap each portion in foil like a tootsie roll. Steam for 40 minutes.
For dinner, I roasted some polenta, green pepper, purple potatoes, and zucchini which I sprayed with olive oil and sprinkled with chili powder (425 degrees). I then added the cut up sausage and topped with leftover enchilada sauce from the other night. Attempting to clean out the fridge never tasted so good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Roasted Polenta and Sausages

  1. >that drink is amazing… i want some so bad… its so hot today too, it would be PERFECT! i have been meaning to make vegan sausages from scratch for too long. you have inspired me to go do it finally!

  2. Rural Vegan says:

    >What a good idea for those sausages. I’ve made about 4 different versions and they’re seemingly impossible to screw up. Love the idea of adding black beans to them!

Leave a Reply

